Changes and Happiness

Over the past several years my priorities have definitely changed.  There was a time in my life where I did crave fortune and fame.  I have played in many bands, recorded, toured and done all of the low end of the totem pole type of rock star stuff.  It was fun, but I found it was something I really didn’t want to do for the rest of my life.

I have also been a photographer for many years.  I’ve worked wit celebrities, had some amazing photo shoots and was even asked to be a part of the conference circuit and speak to other professional photographers about how to build a business.  This could have led to more work, workshops, more speaking engagements and the list goes on.  But I take photos for the love of it, not for the attention it brings.  Which these days it can bring a lot of attention.

While I still take photos and I still play music I have also found another passion.  I enjoy helping others.  This isn’t as profitable and there is really no fame to be found doing this type of work.  But it is the little things like this that really make me enjoy life.

Sydney

I love helping animals find forever homes.  I love helping people discover something new about themselves.  And I really love encouraging people to just be themselves.  No walls, no “trying to fit in” with anybody else.  Some people are more open to this type of help than others, but either way I just like to help.

I remember working with a friend of mine who loved to pose for my camera.  She was a med student turned personal trainer.  We would just go for drives and find locations to shoot at.  We would talk about everything, relationships, work, school, life and whatever else came up.  It was a really good friendship.  These types of moments are what led me to want more of these types of moments.

Sure we took some great photos, but we also made a connection as friends.  And even though we have not seen each other in a long time, I know when our paths do cross again that we will probably pick up right where we left off.

Friendship, compassion and just taking an interest in others is what makes me happy these days.  Well that and relaxing at the beach or by the pool. 😉

Leave a Reply

