Hope

There are many different moments in a day which can send you in any number of different directions.  I will be the first to admit how hard it is to stay focused on one specific path.  The current path I am on right now is that of helping others before helping myself.  This isn’t some great path to enlightenment, it is just currently the right thing to do in my own life.

I am helping my wife with her new business.  I am helping my mother-in-law set up her booth at a street fair every week, today happens to be that day.  I am helping other family members by doing what I can for them to better their own lives and I am helping friends remodel their home.  This is the direction I am pointed in at the moment.  And while it is honestly not financially fulfilling it does make me feel good to help.

Hope

If there is one thing I have learned in this life, it is that things will happen in due time.  Sure, you can force something, but then it doesn’t always work out the way you had hoped it would, yet if you had been more patient maybe it would have turned out differently.  Right now I am practicing patience.  Help others first and still keep the things I want to do in the back of my head, figuring out the details so when the time is right, I will be ready.

Everything in life is a learning experience.  Like right now, I am working as a barista at my wife’s coffee shop.  I have learned so much about coffee because I have surrounded myself with some of the best people in the industry.  I am not just showing up to a job, punching the time clock and putting in my time.  Every single day you have the opportunity to learn something new and this leads to hope.  Why hope?

Because with hope you have faith in something bigger, something that will make every day a better day.  And here is the big kicker to this.  You are in total control of this.  Hope isn’t about wishing for something better to happen.  Hope is what you have when you are working towards a goal, when you are striving to be better, when you are making yourself into the person you want to be.  Hope is how you get there.

Every day I learn something new and this betters my little world.  Everything I learn adds to my list of life experience.  This goes all the way back to me wanting to be a philosopher when I was younger.  Part of being a philosopher is learning as much as you can learn.  It isn’t about standing in front of a crowd and acting the part of the most knowledgeable person in the village.  It is about learning, educating others and helping when and where you can.  Philosophy, to me anyway, is a practice.  You learn as much as you can and you hope as much as you can. Never lose hope, never lose faith in yourself and keep striving to better yourself.  Everything else will work itself out in time.

Every experience is a learning experience.  Good, bad or indifferent.  Take the good when you can, leave the bad behind you and don’t spend too much time tying to figure out the indifferent, it will still be there when you get back.

Leave a Reply

