Risk and Reward

Some days I feel as thought I try to do too much.  But when I get the chance to take a break I simply don’t know what to do with myself.  I am not a workaholic, while I do work a lot it isn’t something I am compelled to do!  I just don’t like sitting still for too long.

I also really like relaxing, I love going to the beach, hanging out with friends and just being chill.  Apparently I just like to do things.  I always like to be doing something.  I don’t care if it is work, adventure, blogging, taking photos, or whatever, I just like to keep active.

Right now I’m trying to figure out the schedule for the first meeting/pool party for our new members of the church.  There is one very cool thing about this little church I have started.  We all enjoy doing things together!  Right now I’m planning a few events for the next year, everything from going to the Coachella festival together and possibly going to another great festival in Colorado next June!

Olivia in the back yard

But I know I have to start small.  Right now I’m working on a booth for the local street fair.  I know we will get some resistance as we are 420 friendly and not a traditional church.  But I do have a very influential person who can help me, she is very involved in the community and I’ll be meeting with her very soon to discuss my plans and she may possibly even help me out!  This is the benefit of being in a small town.  We all get to know each other.

I would really like to support hemp products, so (if all goes as planned) when we make t-shirts or other products to sell at the street fair they will all be made of hemp.  It is such a great product and honestly it is something I do believe in.  I am interviewing a new assistant this week, but she is off to protest at Standing Rock next week so she won’t be starting for at least a couple of weeks.  Honestly this is the best pre-interview information I have ever received from a potential hire!

I have a couple of other people who are on board and new members of the church, so it looks like the ball is rolling in the right direction.  Sorry if this post isn’t that inspiring or philosophical, I am just kind of in awe that all of this is happening.  I started this church about a year and a half ago, maybe two years ago, and it is happening!  We still have not had a full on service, it has been little meetings here and there.  But very soon I will have our very first all out “church service” which will most likely be a BBQ/Pool party at my place.

I guess if I am going to be inspirational today I will just say this.  Follow your passion and trust your heart.  I wouldn’t be here right now if I didn’t follow my heart and trust my gut to create this little church which started as a Facebook page on a day when I really needed something positive to focus on.  I love what I do, I love working with people and I love living life.  I wouldn’t know the people I know if I didn’t take this risk, and so far it is totally worth the reward!

Leave a Reply

