Whatever It Meant

The past two days have been a blast!  I’ve been hanging out with Sky, a leather worker from Canada, currently in LA and who wants to travel all over.  We started talking a couple of months ago about some fun projects and she ended up driving out to Palm Springs where we hopped in my car and drove out to the Salton Sea and Salvation Mountain.  Two of my favorite places.

We drove out and saw some crazy things.  As we pulled into Slab City there was an RV that was on fire!  As much as it would have been an awesome Hollywood type of shot to take photos there, we just couldn’t.  A man lost every possession he had in the world at that moment, this wasn’t about us, this was about him.  Part of me really wants to start a go fund me page just to buy him a new RV.

But the fire department came and took care of it all.  I still feel bad for him but we were on a mission!  We had decided to have fun and came up with a very “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas” type of mini road trip.  I put the camera on the dash and we had fun!  We took photos all over the place, talked about life, the entertainment industry, and I rambled on and on about positive vibes and the whole idea of life in general.  I really must thank her for listening to my babbling!

Sky and Reverend Jim

It was a good time, something I think we all need every now and then.  Just take a break from life and go out and explore the world around you.  I’m sure we will hang out again soon.  We may even go on another adventure, who knows this could become our little thing.  She is a new friend of mine and someone I am happy to have met.

This is the part of life where I really think you have to roll the dice and see what happens.  We didn’t really know each other.  We talked via email and text messages and from there we took a chance that we would hit is off as friends and as collaborators together on this little road trip to the middle of the desert.  I’m hoping that life brings us together again but you never know what the universe has in store for you.

Seize these moments, don’t let them pass you by because you never know when you’re going to meet someone who seriously has the same taste in everything you do!  I swear she is so similar to the way I was 20 years ago!  Punk rock and leather and a love for life!  Not to mention our shared admiration for Hunter S. Thompson, the inspiration for the photo here today.

Don’t let life pass you by.  There are so many little moments along the way which can go unnoticed or ignored.  You never know what life can have in store for you, take the risk, reap the reward and honestly take every chance you can.  I’ll leave you with some of my favorite words from Hunter S. Thompson, let it sink it, he really had a great way of looking at life.

“Maybe it meant something. Maybe not, in the long run, but no explanation, no mix of words or music or memories can touch that sense of knowing that you were there and alive in that corner of time and the world. Whatever it meant.”
Hunter S. Thompson, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

Leave a Reply

