Ups and Downs

Realization. Affirmation. Confirmation.  This was my morning.

This may sound completely vague but I am keeping it this way so that maybe you can associate this within your own day to day life.  This morning I had a slight change of plans.  It was cool, no big deal.  I thought to myself, well whatever happens happens and it is out of my control.  I start my day and another odd thing happens.

I am working on my friend’s house and another person they had hired to do some work shows up a week late to finish something I ended up finishing last night.  He is happy that I did it and he isn’t there to work, he is just there to check it out and see if he needs to do anything.  He then left and I ended up having to fix something else he didn’t do right. He is a nice guy, I think he just takes on more than he knows how to do.

In the middle of my repairs I get a text from the person who changed plans on me today kind of making a statement that made me realize something.  I don’t want this type of connection with people anymore.  It was someone who was putting themselves above me, for no other reason than to seem as though their time was more valuable than mine and I needed them more than they needed me.  Even if that was the case, I didn’t like the tone of it.  Plus this was uncalled for as they were the ones who changed the plans.

The affirmation came right after the realization.  I simply deleted the text, didn’t even reply to the last statement and just went about my day in a much happier mindset.  If I feel this much better by not having to deal with someone like that, well then I just won’t deal with them anymore.  Easier said than done, but now I know a little more about how to avoid this type of situation ever again.

Every situation is an opportunity to learn something new.  Today I actually relearned what I should have already known, but apparently it was a lesson I needed to learn again.  And this is when I say the universe works in mysterious ways.

Not even an hour after all of this I get an email from someone who really wants to meet with me, discuss life, take some photos, hang out and just enjoy life together for a brief moment in time.  This was the confirmation I needed to know I am on the right path and seeking out the right people.

One of the best things I have learned how to do is to say no to people.  People don’t understand the power that the simples words of Yes and No have.  No gives you the power to not let people affect you.  If someone asks you to do something you don’t want to do, you can just say no.  The reasons are yours to decide why you said no, they may be valid they may not be, but they are your reasons.  The same goes for yes.  If you say yes you made the choice to be there and to be in this situation.

Now when I say no to someone it usually isn’t because I don’t want to do something, it is either because I am busy or it is something that doesn’t feel right to me.  I am no longer debating something in my head.  I know the answer right away because I have been down this road before and I use the feelings I had before to guide me to my answer.  Just like I knew it was right to invite Olivia into our home, where seemed to fall in love with our life sized teddy bear. But that is a whole different story for another day!

Olivia and Teddy

This may seem like an easy thing to do, but it isn’t always easy.  I like to give people the benefit of the doubt, often times I am wrong, but I still like to think of the good in people and give them a chance.  I am just happy that today I didn’t get sucked into a situation that could have made me (and possibly someone else) feel a lot worse!  It wasn’t so much as taking the high road, it was more of knowing I didn’t want to go down that road at all.  I just said “no” and walked a different path, which has already led me to a better feeling about life today.

The moral of the story is that just because you want something to go a certain way doesn’t mean it is meant to go that way.  I wanted one thing, or at least I thought I did, I ended up getting another and I truly believe in the end it is all going to work out the way it is meant to be.  The universe if funny that way.  The energy flows, how you receive it is entirely up to you!

Leave a Reply

