Utopia

If any of you have ever seen the movie Wanderlust, well I am a lot like Alan Alda’s character.  I am the old hippie guy who just kind of runs the place.  But, while I still pursue this healthier lifestyle, still believe we are all connected and really want to better the planet.  I really need to get out every now and then and have a steak dinner at the local diner.  Usually not a steak, but you get my meaning.

The steak is a metaphor for taking everything in moderation.  We will probably never have a perfect society, there are too many people and we all have different opinions on everything.  The closest we will probably ever come to Utopia is only if we can decide to live together in peace and coexist.

If you want to be a vegan, go for it, if you eat meat, well that is your choice as well.  Personally I hate the meat industry, but every now and then I do crave a burger.  I’m not perfect, nor will I ever say I am.  But as humans we are not meant to be perfect.  If we were perfect we wouldn’t make mistakes, we wouldn’t learn from them and we wouldn’t grow.  Perfection may just be unobtainable for us.  And maybe it is meant to be that way?

Nicole

If we start to accept our faults maybe we can start to overcome some of them.  As much as I try I don’t think I’ll ever become a full vegan.  I honestly don’t believe in extremes and I do believe humans are omnivores, so eating meat is part of our diet.  But like I said, I just hate the meat industry and the way animals are treated.  This is where my true conflicting thoughts are at the moment.

I also tend to run off topic a lot, this is where I am like his character again.  I also lose things that are important, like deeds to a house, titles to cars, cash, and the list goes on.  But I always remember my friends.  So maybe I don’t have a concern with what really isn’t important to me, maybe I just like to focus on what is important?

I’m rambling a little here, but only to say this.  None of us are perfect.  Please don’t expect others to live up to your standards or to anyone else’s.  If we all do our best to accept others for who they are, maybe we have a chance at making some long lasting advances on this little blue dot we all call home.  We do live together, we should always try to find and make peace with each other.

Just some random thoughts for the day….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

